• School Bus Driver Requirements

    1. Pass a physical required by the State of Pennsylvania specifically for School Bus Drivers.  
      This physical must be completed annually.
      A record of the physical is kept by the employer and the PA Dept. of Transportation.

    2.  Class B CommercialA Driver’s License must be obtained.
      A Driving Permit for a School Bus Driver’s license must be obtained from a PennDot Licensing Center.
      Written knowledge test must be passed for the following endorsements:
                            General Knowledge endorsement
                            Air Brake Restriction removed endorsement
                            Passenger endorsement
                            School Bus endorsement
      The written tests must be taken at a PennDot Licensing Center.

    3. Required In-Bus Training.
      A New school bus driver applicant must complete a minimum of 6 hours behind-the-wheel instruction with a Pennsylvania certified school bus instructor.

    4. Required Classroom Training.
      A new school bus driver applicant must complete a minimum of 14 hours of classroom instruction taught by a Pennsylvania certified school bus instructor.

    5. Required Driving Test.
      A driving test must be scheduled after all endorsement tests have been passed, the required behind-the-wheel and classroom instruction completed and documented with the PA Dept. of Transportation.
      The driving test can be scheduled at a PennDot Licensing Center or with a Pennsylvania certified Third Party Tester.

    All five steps must be completed to become a school bus driver in Pennsylvania.

    Pennsylvania requires all School Bus Drivers to complete a recertification process every 4 years.

    1. The annual physical must be completed.  

    2. The School Bus endorsement test must be passed at a PennDot Licensing Center.

    3. Required In-Bus Training.
      An existing school bus driver must complete a minimum of 3 hours behind-the-wheel instruction with a Pennsylvania certified school bus instructor.

    4. Required Classroom Training.
      An existing school bus driver must complete a minimum of 7 hours of classroom instruction taught by a Pennsylvania certified school bus instructor.

    5. All training hours must be documented with the PA Dept. of Transportation.

      All five steps of the recertification process must be competed to renew the school bus endorsement of the Commercial Driver’s License for another 4 year period.